Roadtrip

http://www.cartoonbrew.com/cartoon-brew-pick/roadtrip-xaver-xylophon-149081.html

ROADTRIP from Xaver Xylophon on Vimeo.

I’m quite inspired by this film despite its flaws. I don’t particularly like the way some of it is animated using motion graphics as it feels a bit clunky and lazy, but I understand this is a graduation film and perhaps it was an easy way out for getting less important motion done. I like how the story unfolds in a slow naturalistic pace and tackles the protagonists frustration, but I can’t help but feel like there’s something self congratulatory about it, maybe boastful, but that might say more about me than the animator.

The pencil on paper feel looks great for the most part but in a few scenes, especially at the beginning and in darker scenes I feel like there was no depth to the images, but overlooking that I think it’s a wonderful design choice along with the palette.

Looking at the Xaver’s other work, I can see he makes great use of so called ‘2.5D’ animation. This is something I’ve used in the past, making a TV title sequence in After Effects that relied on parallax as its primary effect. Its interesting how it can be used in the context of an animation like this.

I criticise this film a lot in this post, but I really do quite like it. Its imperfections and simplicity make it very expressive and a far more honest and personal story. I’d be very proud to make something like it.

 

Leave a Reply

