Character Maquette

Above shows the process of making my character maquette. I began by by making a roughly 7 inch tall wire frame clad in tin foil to bulk it out. From here I could start putting a thin layer of Super-Sculpy around the entire skeleton. Super-Sculpy is wonderful to model with as you can add to it in little bits without having to work hard to fuse it. Once I had built the overall shape of the character it was just down to using tools to make the finer details.

The pose I built the maquette in was inspired by Monsieur Hulot who I based my character on in the first place. It’s a bit of a trademark stance for the character, standing hands on hips and leaning forward an uncomfortable amount in a way that comes off as a little invasive.

 

Leave a Reply

