Week 5 Summary

Having my introduction to CG was very enlightening at the beginning of the week. It opened my eyes to a whole new way of animating and I’m very excited to get to grips with the finer details of Maya. I’ve been trying to work on some of my own basic sequences at home but have encountered some compatibility issues.

My narrative essay has come to a start this week as I’ve chosen to analyse Sylvian Chomet’s ‘The Old Lady & The Pigeons’. It’s a film without any (meaningful) dialogue so I’m going to be focusing on visual storytelling and narrative structure. Being a short form piece I’m going to have to look into the structure of short film narrative.

Shooting the first of 3 stop motion exercises was a lot of fun. It’s been a long time since I’ve really worked in stop motion and it’s magical to get back into. Its rare for me to work with a format so free and tactile. The bouncing ball exercise was a good start to reorient me with the format but I’m looking forward to working with armatures.

Looking at perspective in life drawing was fascinating. I was especially interested in the idea of drawing in fish-eye perspective. We were tasked with drawing the room around us and it was fun to draw things in context but also to think about what I’m really seeing rather than drawing an impression of what I’m seeing.

Leave a Reply

