First Steps in Maya

Today, I’ve made my first CG animated sequence of a ball bouncing. I’ve had a go at making 3D models in the past, but never put anything on the timeline. Looking at the graph editor in Maya has opened my eyes to a whole new way of animating. Despite what looks like a hideously convoluted interface, I look forward to coming to understand this new medium.

Stepping onto this course I knew that learning 3D modelling and CG animation is probably the most apply-able skill I can gain from my time here, but recently being reintroduced to stop motion animation I’m smitten. I love it with it’s simplicity, intricacy and the fact its so tactile. I much prefer the idea of spending my days here hunched over a table in the dark rather than hunched in front of monitor in the dark.

balls-2balls-3

Leave a Reply

